The Dawood Foundation
Find us on:

Rasheed Khan
Caretaker at the Flagstaff House

Rasheed Khan, the caretaker and only guide at the Flagstaff House speaks about its architectural elements. He talks about Jinnah’s belongings, his lifestyle, and his family. One will step back in time as he narrates the history of the house.

Flagstaff House, also known as the Quaid-e-Azam House Museum, is one of Somake’s first known building. Built-in the 1890’s, this historic building consists of arched openings, carved pillars, semicircular balconies, and six spacious rooms. It was rented by the British Indian Army and served as a residence to senior officers including General Douglas David Gracy, who later became the second commander in chief of the Pakistan Army. Initially, the Flagstaff House was owned by a Parsi magnate, Sorab Kavasji, and his family but was later purchased by Muhammad Ali Jinnah in March 1944. After the partition of the Subcontinent in 1947, Jinnah’s belongings were shifted here from Delhi and Bombay. In 1948, after the death of Quaid-e-Azam, Fatima Jinnah moved into the house and lived here until 1964.
The bungalow also includes servant quarters and a horse barn which is now converted into a hall for guests.